Daily Archives: April 8, 2009

Lessons I learned from having pink hair!

So this past Sunday I changed my hair color for the day from brown to pink!

Alex's Pink Hair

This wasn’t by choice I’ll have you know, but a challenge I lost!

I had a bet (or a challenge for you Holy people!) with the kids in our church that if they raised over $1,500 in March for missions I’d dye my hair pink! Not thinking they’d do it I took up the challenge!

We’ll it’s amazing what some people will do to make others look stupid! To cut a long story short, they raised the money and my hair went pink.

So I sported a pink hair do for the day and it was incredible how different people treated me. I suddenly became the center of attention and people stopped what they were doing when I walked by.

So these are the lessons I learned from having pink hair:

  • Do something unexpected and people will notice
  • In order to stand out from the crowd you have to look very different from the crowd
  • I don’t like being the center of attention
  • Some people are color blind!
  • Nobody looked me in the eye, they only looked at my hair
  • You could tell people had questions, why, what, how and do you know that doesn’t suit you!
  • Pink doesn’t suit me!
  • People appreciate it when you’ll do anything for someone else
  • People follow through on their own ideas. When someone owns a project they make sure it happens
  • Pink dye is a lot easier to put in than wash out!

One of the best books I’ve read this year is called ‘IT’ by Craig Groeschel (a must read for any leader!). In this book he describes how one of the ways churches can get the X factor is through innovative ideas. I discovered that pink hair was an innovative idea by our kids and boy did it work!

King David had an innovative idea when the ark of the covenant was returned to Jerusalem. He wanted everyone to know how they were supposed to worship God. So what did he do? He ran through the streets butt naked worshipping God! He wanted to show the people pure, unhindered worship for God. This is not something I’d recommend this Sunday, please, no! But the point is, King David used a crazy idea to get peoples attention. Some people hated him for it, even his wife, but it didn’t stop the greatest King of Israel showing what worship real is!

We’ll I’ll stick with pink hair, but at least our kids know about missions and they were able to make a difference!

So let me ask you a question? What innovative idea have you done lately to be noticed? What is your church, business, organization or ministry doing to stand out from the crowd?