Daily Archives: March 20, 2011

30 Days of Prayer: Day 2 – Public Officials

We’ve got to day 2 of our 30 Days of Prayer and Fasting. Today we are praying for our public officials.

Not many people like politics, but no-one can deny the important role our politicians make. I’ll be honest, when I first moved to America I was taken back by how many different roles in local government were elected political roles. However, the longer I live here the more I appreciate what the people who serve in these roles stand for. I may not agree with all their politics, but I do agree with their desire to serve the people of their local community.

These roles are not easy, they require sacrifice, patience and often not so easy, unpopular decisions for the sake of the community in which they serve. These people not only need good people around them to advise them, but they need Godly people to lift them up in prayer. Even the Apostle Paul told his young disciple Timothy to prayer for Kings and rulers of nations (1 Timothy 2:1-4).

My prayer today is that the people of Generation Church will be a positive influence on the leaders of our communities. That we won’t contribute to negative campaigns, but help lift these people up in prayer to our God!

On another note, I’ve done two days of fasting noise in my life. Both yesterday and today I set 45 minutes aside to just focus on God. No music, no distractions, not even a bible, just God and myself. To be honest I haven’t found it easy! I’m a loud pray’er! I normally turn the music up, I prayer out loud, there is nothing quiet about my normal prayer life, so just silence before God is a little weird for me. Yet I have left both days with such a clearer mind. It’s amazing how the noise in our lives can cause our minds to fog up!

Only 28 days till re-launch! I’m excited and I just love our church! Such a privilege to lead this awesome group of people!